Thread: Uploaded files do not retain their source date/time

etmg is offline Junior Member

Default Uploaded files do not retain their source date/time

Hi

My name is Alex Kemp & I've very recently uploaded some files to etmg.altervista.org (yes, a newbie here - the pages are not yet promoted to search engines.). No problems with login nor anything else except...

After upload, the files on altervista.org have the uploaded date, rather than the source-date. That is not usual for FTP. I'm well-used to ftp, and there were zero errors reported. I was planning to make use of the modification-date, so I'm now a bit stumped. Is my experience normal, or perhaps there is some config item not yet mentioned that needs activating?

System: Debian 8.2 Jessie
    FTP apps: ftp + wput (command-line).

[If this is in the wrong area, or some other thing please let me know]

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by etmg; 12-26-2015 at 03:43 AM. Reason: small mod to title

karl94 is offline AlterVista Staff

The AlterVista FTP server supports the SITE UTIME command, which allows to set the modification time for a file. Did the client you used try to send that command? Could you please post a log of the FTP session?

Many thanks for your reply, karl94. Most useful.

Unfortunately, no logs.

wput was first-time use for me; it did the job in as much as the files are up on the server. However, it is missing some crucial features. Most of Debian help is directed towards setting up an ftp server. I'm currently trying to find a helpful daemon.

I'll post back with assistance/requests for further help.

Thanks again.

I've tried bareFTP 0.3.9. An extremely useful utility that works under Gnome. Instantly usable without need to consult documentation. Love it. Naturally, it's no longer being developed (nor does it update file meta information).

bareFTP reported the following info on Server connection:-

FEAT
    211 Extensions supported:
    EPRT
    IDLE
    MDTM
    SIZE
    MFMT